IPM RAS / About

About institute

The Institute for Physics of Microstructures of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IPM RAS) was created in accordance with the Decree of the Presidium of Russian Academy of Science № 173 of 28 September, 1993 on the basis of Solid State Physics Division of the «Institute of Applied Physics of the USSR Academy of Sciences (now IAP RAS). The first director of the IPM RAS was S. V. Gaponov (corresponding member of RAS since 1994, academician since 2008 and Councillor of RAS since 2009). In 2009 professor Z. F. Krasilnik headed the IPM RAS, in 2015 professor V.I. Gavrilenko

IPM RAS is affiliated to the Physical Science Division of Russian Academy of Sciences. Since 2009 the Institute is a part of Nizhny Novgorod Research Center of RAS.

The main scientific directions of the Institute include surface physics, solid-state nanostructures, high temperature superconductors, multilayer x-ray optics, technologies and applications of thin films, surface and multilayer structures.

The staff of IPM consists of 275 employees, including more than 180 researchers (25 with doctoral degrees and 86 PhD, 7 State Prize laureates and 1 laureate of State Prize of the Russian Federation for Young Scientists)

IPM RAS has close collaboration with Nizhny Novgorod State University with more than 20 employees teaching at NNSU.

In 2004 the interfaculty base chair Physics of nanostructures and nanoelectronics» was created at NNSU and IPM RAS. The Common Research Center «Physics and technology of micro- and nanostructures» was organized in order to enhance the efficiency of unique equipment exploitation.

© 2000—2024, IPM RAS.
E-mail: director@ipmras.ru

Address: Academicheskaya Str., 7, Afonino, Nizhny Novgorod region, Kstovsky district, Kstovo region, 603087, Russia

Phone: +7 831 4179473,
Fax: +7 831 4179464,
Mail address: GSP-105, Nizhny Novgorod, 603950, Russia